Chalice of the Void

Serie
Mirrodin
Alle series
Masters 25
Modern Masters
Kaladesh Inventions
Magic Online Promos
Judge Gift Cards 2019
Mirrodin
Rarity
Rare
Tekst
Chalice of the Void enters the battlefield with X charge counters on it. Whenever a player casts a spell with converted mana cost equal to the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void, counter that spell.
Legality
Legal in: Commander, Duel, Legacy, Modern
Restricted in: Vintage
Rulings
2018-03-16: A mana cost of means that you pay twice X. If you want X to be 3, you pay to cast Chalice of the Void.

2018-03-16: The number of counters on Chalice of the Void matters only at the time the spell is cast. Changing the number of charge counters on Chalice of the Void after a spell has been cast won’t change whether the ability counters the spell.

2018-03-16: If there are zero charge counters on Chalice of the Void, it counters each spell with a converted mana cost of 0. This includes face-down creature spells cast with morph’s alternative cost.

2018-03-16: Chalice of the Void has to be on the battlefield at the end of casting a spell for the ability to trigger. If you sacrifice Chalice of the Void as a cost to cast a spell, its ability can’t trigger. However, if it leaves the battlefield once its ability has triggered, that ability will still counter the spell.